As I look out from my living room onto the beautiful, snow -capped Sierra Nevada Mountain Range, I can’t help but wish the snow had stayed in the mountains, away from the valley floor and the local golf courses. I enjoy snowboarding and other winter sports, and genuinely look forward to the winter season. Yet, after several months of not playing any golf, I would gladly trade in my snowboard and lift ticket for a new driver and a spot on the first tee.

Stuck inside with green grass and golf shots only viewable on The Golf Channel, I pick up one of my many putters and try several different grips.  The putter feels somewhat foreign to me, and I think about what method I might implement in the coming season. As I sit watching the WGC World Match Play in Arizona, I surprised to see the new approach Matt Kuchar is using this week. You would think the  leading money winner on the PGA Tour with the most top-10 in 2010 would continue with the approach that has brought him much success. However, Kuchar decided to add 5 inches, that’s right 5 inches to his putter! Not only that he switched from being very bent over and putting cross-handed, to standing slightly more upright and using a conventional putting grip.

I’m not sure how many of you watched the Northern Trust last week, but Fred Couples was in contention for much of the event. I only watched a portion of the last day, but If you were watching closely, Couples would switch between putting with a conventional grip and a cross handed grip – on the same hole!

Why I am sharing this with you? Simple – don’t be afraid of change. If two of the best players in the world, are willing to make drastic changes to their putting approach while playing for millions of dollars, what is keeping you from implementing a new approach to putting?  Albert Einstein defined insanity as, “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results…” If this is true, and you are not putting well, the better question is, ‘why wouldn’t you want to change’?

If you are struggling with your putting, I strongly suggest you take 30 minutes, go to the putting green, and try different approaches. Try using a shorter putter, a longer putter, more loft, less loft, different grips – anything that alters from your normal approach. You may just find something that not only feels better, but produces even better results!

 

 

